Skip to main content

21 September 2004

Smiths Group today announces the appointment of Peter Jackson as senior independent director.

Mr. Jackson, chief executive of Associated British Foods plc, has been a non-executive director of Smiths since December 2003.

Smiths Group also confirms the appointment of David Challen CBE as a non-executive director of the Company with effect from 21 September 2004. An announcement anticipating his appointment was made on 28 May 2004. Mr Challen is a non-executive director of Anglo American plc and in the past five years has been a director of AWG plc and Thomson Travel Group plc, which during his period of office were publicly quoted.* He owns 2000 ordinary shares of 25p in Smiths Group plc.

Mr Challen succeeds Sir Colin Chandler as chairman of the Audit Committee with immediate effect.

Finally, in line with previous announcements, and also with effect from 21 September 2004, Donald Brydon CBE becomes Chairman of Smiths Group, on the retirement from the Board of Keith Orrell-Jones.

Smiths Group designs and manufactures safety critical systems and products, and has market leading positions in aerospace systems, detection systems, medical devices, mechanical seals, and interconnect products.


Related articles

Aerial Shot Of Forest

John Crane awarded key energy transition contracts in North America

Find out more Call to action arrow icon
Mobile Scanner

Advanced X-ray screening equipment used to help secure NFL Super Bowl

Find out more Call to action arrow icon
Japan Airport

Smiths Detection technology to be used at Fukuoka International Airport 

Find out more Call to action arrow icon